

For Immediate Release July 16, 2012 Contact: Michele Sharp Director of Communications and Public Affairs (203) 294-7213 <u>Sharp@chime.org</u>

Connecticut Hospital Association Welcomes the Newly Elected Members of its Board of Trustees

WALLINGFORD – At the Connecticut Hospital Association (CHA) Annual Meeting, held June 27, 2012, Susan Davis, RN, EdD, President and Chief Executive Officer, St. Vincent's Health Services, began her two-year term as Chairman of the CHA Board of Trustees. She succeeds Christopher Dadlez, President and Chief Executive Officer, Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center, who will now serve as Immediate Past Chairman.

Additionally, CHA members elected trustees and officers for the CHA 2012-2013 Board of Trustees.

Bruce Cummings, President/CEO, Lawrence & Memorial Hospital will serve as Vice Chairman. Peter Karl, President and CEO, Eastern Connecticut Health Network (Manchester Memorial Hospital and Rockville General Hospital), is Secretary. Patrick Charmel, President and Chief Executive Officer, Griffin Hospital, will serve as DNS Board Chairman.

The Executive Committee At Large members are Frank Corvino, President/CEO, Greenwich Hospital and Marna Borgstrom, Chief Executive Officer, Yale-New Haven Hospital.

Newly elected or reelected trustees include: Robert Smanik, President and Chief Executive Officer, Day Kimball Hospital; Frank Corvino, President/CEO, Greenwich Hospital; Ulysses Hammond, Board Chairman, Lawrence & Memorial Hospital; Curtis Robinson, Board Member, Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center; and Marna Borgstrom, Chief Executive Officer, Yale-New Haven Hospital. The AHA Delegate is Susan Davis, RN, EdD, President and Chief Executive Officer, St. Vincent's Health Services, and the AHA Alternate Delegate is Elliot Joseph, President and CEO, Hartford HealthCare.

The Executive Committee appointed Kurt Barwis, President and Chief Executive Officer, Bristol Hospital, as CEO Forum Chairman.

Other members of the 2012-2013 CHA Board include:

Officers –Treasurer David Whitehead, President and CEO, The William W. Backus Hospital; and CHA President and CEO Jennifer Jackson.

Trustees – Timothy Bates, Board Member, Lawrence & Memorial Hospital; Nancy Blanchette, Board Member, Bristol Hospital; Vincent Capece Jr., President/CEO, Middlesex Hospital; Brian Grissler, President and Chief Executive Officer, Stamford Hospital; Lawrence McGoldrick, Board Member, Hartford HealthCare; John Murphy, MD, President and Chief Executive Officer, Western Connecticut Health Network; Kevin Myatt, Senior Vice President of Human Resources, Yale-New Haven Hospital; Christopher O'Connor, President and Chief Executive Officer, Hospital of Saint Raphael; Clarence Silvia, President/CEO, The Hospital of Central Connecticut; and Chad Wable, President and Chief Executive Officer, Saint Mary's Hospital.

###

About CHA

The Connecticut Hospital Association has been dedicated to serving Connecticut's hospitals since 1919. Through state and federal advocacy, CHA represents the interests of Connecticut's hospitals on key healthcare issues in the areas of quality and patient safety, access and coverage, workforce, community health, and hospital reimbursement.