

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE July 1, 2010

Contact: Leslie Gianelli 203.294.7213, gianelli@chime.org

Connecticut Hospital Association Elects Leaders at 92nd Annual Meeting

Wallingford - At its 92nd Annual Meeting on June 30, the Connecticut Hospital Association (CHA) elected officers and members of its Board of Trustees. The Board serves as the policy-making body for the association.

Christopher Dadlez of Simsbury, President and Chief Executive Officer of Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center, will become Chairman of the Board of Trustees and **Susan Davis**, **EdD**, of Easton, President and Chief Executive Officer of St. Vincent's Medical Center, will serve as Vice Chairman.

Elected Secretary of the Board of Trustees was **Peter Karl**, President & CEO, Eastern Connecticut Health Network (ECHN).

Patrick Charmel, President and Chief Executive Officer, Griffin Hospital, was elected Board Chairman of Diversified Network Services, the board that oversees CHA's fee-based services.

Serving as At Large Members of the Executive Committee will be **Frank Corvino**, President/ CEO, Greenwich Hospital and **Bruce Cummings**, President/CEO, Lawrence and Memorial Hospital.

Elected as Trustees were the following:

Timothy Bates, Board Member, Lawrence and Memorial Hospital Brian Grissler, President & Chief Executive Officer, Stamford Hospital Elliot Joseph, President and Chief Executive Officer, Hartford Hospital Lawrence McGoldrick, Board Member, MidState Medical Center John Michaels, Board Member, Waterbury Hospital Christopher O'Connor, President and Chief Executive Officer, Hospital of Saint Raphael Clarence Silvia, President/CEO, The Hospital of Central Connecticut Chad Wable, President and Chief Executive Officer, Saint Mary's Hospital David Whitehead, President & CEO, The William W. Backus Hospital The Executive Committee also appointed **Kurt Barwis**, President and Chief Executive Officer, Bristol Hospital, as Chairman of the CEO Forum for a two-year term.

The newly elected members of the CHA Board will join the current members: Immediate Past Chairman Marna Borgstrom, Yale-New Haven Hospital; Treasurer Richard Brvenik, Windham Hospital; Jennifer Jackson, CHA; Martin Gavin, Connecticut Children's Medical Center; Robert Lyons Jr., Gaylord Hospital; Curtis Robinson, Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center; Joel Reich, M.D., Eastern Connecticut Health Network; Robert Smanik, Day Kimball Hospital; and Barbara Weiss, Middlesex Hospital.

###

The Connecticut Hospital Association has been dedicated to serving Connecticut's hospitals since 1919. Through state and federal advocacy, CHA represents the interests of Connecticut's not-for-profit hospitals on key healthcare issues in the areas of quality and patient safety, access and coverage, workforce, public health, and hospital reimbursement.